Teacher Quality Office » Home

Home

"Serve with a smile"

MISSION:

To promote efficiency and effectiveness in the quality of services that address certification, performance evaluation, and professional growth for all public school teachers in American Samoa.


VISION:

To have a highly qualified and effective teacher in every public school classroom.


What The Teacher Quality Office Does

If you are seriously curious and have limited to no awareness of what Teacher Quality (TQ) does as an office in the organizational structure of the American Samoa Department of Education (ASDOE), then please read this statement in its entirety. After doing so, you’ll be enlightened and will hopefully want to continue browsing through the TQ webpage. Who knows, you might even want to contact a staff member for more information or to just “get connected”.

The very essence of the TQ Office is to serve all public school teachers. Ensuring that they have proper teaching certification as mandated by law. That they receive orientation on the Teacher Performance Evaluation System (TPES) before being periodically observed and formally evaluated by their school leaders. TQO then reports the teacher evaluation data to the ASDOE leadership for decision-making on professional development and a host of other educational issues that directly impact teacher performance and student achievement. Finally, TQ initiates and reinforces school based teacher enrichment activities for the purpose of boosting morale and building consensus to collaborate and support effective learning activities. All of this is done at TQO through three distinct but collectively supported teacher service programs…Certification, Evaluation and Enrichment. Certification test requirements can be accessed at https://www.ets.org/praxis/am_samoa. Evaluation, Enrichment and other Certification information are provided as PDF viewable.

Please browse on and discover more about what TQO does and feel free to call, email or stop by. We welcome one and all!
CONTACT INFORMATION:

Teacher Quality Office
Tasi Street Lion’s Park
Tafuna, AS 96799
Phone: (684) 699-9117/9118/5457
Fax: (684) 699-0312
Email:asdoetq@doe.as

Diana S. Ameperosa
Assistant Director
dianaa@doe.as

PROGRAM DIRECTORS
Jubilee Apulu, Teacher Enrichment
jubileea@doe.as

Elvis Liufau, Teacher Evaluation
elvisl@doe.as

Fonofonosefulu M. Maene, Teacher Certification
fonofonosefulum@doe.as

Shivaun Wolf, World-Teach Field Director
americansamoa@worldteach.org

SUPPORT STAFF:
Jessica Fuimaono, Teacher Evaluation Data Clerk
jessicaf@doe.as

Tony Leatualevao, Special Project Administrator
tonyl@doe.as

Vaialofi Malae, Teacher Certification Data Clerk
vaialofim@doe.as
 
Palesitina Taufi, Office Manager
palesitinat@doe.as
 
Alexander H. Young, Data Administrator
alexandery@doe.as