Teacher Quality Office » Home

Home

TEACHER QUALITY OFFICE
"Service with a smile"
 
MISSION:
To promote efficiency and effectiveness in the quality of services that address certification, performance evaluation, and professional growth for all public school teachers in American Samoa.

VISION:
To have a highly qualified and effective teacher in every public school classroom.

COMMITMENT STATEMENT:
The TQ Office is committed to serving all public school teachers, ensuring that they have proper teaching certification as mandated by law. That teachers receive orientation on the Teacher Performance Evaluation System (TPES) before being periodically observed and formally evaluated by their school leaders. That they are provided with in-service trainings to improve their understanding of the system. That teacher evaluation data is reported to the ASDOE leadership for decision-making on professional development and a host of other educational issues that directly impact teacher performance and student achievement. Finally, TQ is committed to initiating and reinforcing school based teacher enrichment activities to boost morale and build consensus to collaborate and support effective learning activities. These commitments are articulated through three distinct but collectively supported teacher service programs…Certification, Evaluation and Enrichment. Certification test requirements can be accessed at https://www.ets.org. Evaluation, Enrichment and other Certification information are provided as PDF viewable.

Please browse for more detailed information on TQO's services and feel free to call, email or stop by. We welcome one and all!
CONTACT INFORMATION:

Teacher Quality Office
Tasi Street Lion’s Park
Tafuna, AS 96799
Phone: (684) 699-9117
Fax: (684) 699-0312
Email:asdoetq@doe.as
 
STAFF
 
Assistant Director:
Diana S. Ameperosa
dianaa@doe.as

Program Directors:
Jubilee Lafao-Apulu
Teacher Enrichment
jubileea@doe.as

Fonofonosefulu M. Maene Teacher Certification
fonofonosefulum@doe.as
 
Laborday Atanoa
 Teacher Evaluation
 
(Currently Vacant)
 In-service Trainings

Support Staff:
Jessica Fuimaono
TPES Data Clerk
jessicaf@doe.as

Vaialofi Malae
Certification Data Clerk
vaialofim@doe.as
 
Palesitina Taufi
Office Manager
palesitinat@doe.as
 
Alexander H. Young
Data Administrator
alexandery@doe.as
 
Guest Staff:
Rebecca Izquierdo
Field Director
World Teach Organization