Secondary Office » Home


The Secondary Division is led by Assistant Director Talauega Dr. Samasoni Asaeli.  The main roles and responsibilities of the Division is to oversee and support all six public high school leaders, staff and faculty, and students in the implementation of responsibilities and programs aligned to support student success and achievement.  School leaders are encouraged to take a paradigm shift from a fixed mindset to a growth mindset to be proactive in effective teaching and learning through the focus on the School Leader Evaluation Performance Tool (SLEPT) and the creation of S.M.A.R.T. Goals to provide the guidance needed by high school principals to become effective instructional school leaders.
Our mission is to effectively support all public high schools in their achievement of their School Learner Outcomes (SLO) through their school-wide action plans and ultimately the ASDOE vision and mission towards college, career, and life readiness.​
Our vision is to produce professional learning opportunities for growth and improvements aligned to current trends in education.​
The 2017 Close Up American Samoa Youth Summit marks its sixth year since this event took place in American Samoa.  Co-sponsored by the Close Up Foundation and the American Samoa Department of Education, the event brought our high school students together form across the Territory for three days of action.  Students learned about the inner-workings of the American Samoa government as they speak directly to legislator and public officials about their plans for the future.  The students held a youth convention and developed youth agenda for action that they presented to the invited members of the American Samoa legislature.  The American Samoa youth summit was held at the Rex Lee Auditorium from October 10-12, 2017. 
Special "Thank You" to the following individuals:

Honorable Governor Lolo Matalasi Moliga

House of Representatives
Honorable Vailoata Amituana'i, District #7
Honorable Manumaua Wayne Wilson, District #12
Honorable Fagaoatua Dorian Salave'a, District #13
Honorable Florence Saulo-Vui, District #15
Honorable Samuel Meleisea, District #15
Honorable Gafatasi Afalava, District #17
Counsel Mrs. Deanna Fuimaono
Mrs. Lydia Faleafine-Nomura (DOI) Director Keniseli Lafaele (DOC)
Mr. Philo Jennings (DOE) Mrs. Peseta Tia Seloti (Private School Rep.)
Mr. Utu Abe Malae (CEO, ASPA) Miss Marian McGuire (ASEPA)
Taeaofua Dr. Meki Solomona (DHSS) Dr. John Tufa (DPH)
Tapa'au Dr. Daniel Aga (OPS) Commissioner Le'i Sonny Thompson (DPS)

Especially to the Close Up Foundation and the Department of Education
Mr. Michael "Tofimaileatua" Boetang and Miss Michelle Gross
Dr. Ruth Matagi-Tofiga

Contact #: (684) 699-1245 or 1246

Location:  Behind ASDOE Warehouse

Tafuna High School Lower Campus